How is cotton candy made? The candy you eat is made of sugarand it dissolves the moment it’s put in water. The truth is that your favorite confectioneryis actually just a few tablespoons of sugar! But making this sugar ‘cottony’ is a bit tough. Let us take a closer look.
First, candy man pours sugar into a small container set in the middle of a deep circular tray. Often, he adds a chemical called a colorant. This chemical is what gives color to the candy(because sugar by itself is colorless).
This small container (or holder) has incredibly teeny holes and contains an in-built heater that melts the sugar into a sticky liquid. The holder is connected to a small motor that causes it to rotate.
As it spins incredibly fast the liquid sugar splashes out of the tiny holes. As soon as the hot liquidhits the air, it cools, and solidifies, forming threads of sugar in the circular tray.
The candy man then pops in a stick, deftly wraps these threads of candy around it and hands it to you! So now we know how this candy is made.
What flavor is cotton candy? Cotton candy characteristically is described as being sweet, caramellic, jammy, fruity and berry like.
A unique flavor combination which has become known as the flavor candy.
Can Vegans eat cotton candy? Natural and organic cotton candy is vegan. Organic sugar does not contain bone char like standard refined sugar. Traditional, artificial cotton candy is however not vegan. In addition to the bone char, artificial flavors and dyes often used don’t qualify.
Content for this question contributed by Denise Bradley, resident of Linden, southeastern Union County, New Jersey, USA