Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Dec 8, 2015 in TellMeWhy |

What Are the Seven Seas?

What Are the Seven Seas?

In various cultures at different times in history, the Seven Seas has referred to bodies of water along trade routes, regional bodies of water, or exotic and far-away bodies of water.

Not many people use this phrase today, but some people think that the modern Seven Seas are the North and South Pacific, North and South Atlantic, the Arctic, the Antarctic and the Indian Oceans.

But the phrase doesn’t really describe these oceans. However, our oceans are more commonly geographically divided into the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, Arctic, and Southern (Antarctic) Oceans.

In ancient times, before some of the oceans were known to exist, people called the following the Seven Seas: the Bay of Bengal, the South China Sea, the Arabian Sea, the Persian Gulf, the Red Sea, the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean.

Content for this question contributed by Gregory Superneau, resident of Springfield, Hampden County, Massachusetts, USA